Full Time Contract!!!

Standard

I just received some of the greatest news I have ever heard…I get to sign a FULL TIME TEACHING CONTRACT, that means I get full pay, full benefits, my own classroom, and most importantly, the chance to work with some really awesome kids for an entire school year!!!

Maybe to a regular person outside of teaching, this doesn’t seem like such a big deal, people get FT jobs all the time…Yet in education and especially in California, that is not such a luxury.  As you all know, I have been working really hard at making teaching work as an actual career, but it hasn’t been easy. Getting a FT job where I can start AND finish a year with the SAME group of kiddos is the ultimate job and it’s mine!!!  I work with an amazing group of teachers, and their love and support has been so encouraging.  I truly feel so blessed and filled with gratitude for this opportunity.

Over the next few days we will be working on figuring out the new classes (too many kids, that’s why they needed an additional teacher/classroom) and we will be setting up the classrooms. 

I will be staying in the room I started off in, RM 15, and teaching a straight First grade class.  The teacher I was initially subbing for, in RM 15, was given the straight Kinder class. Since our room is so far from the kinder area, she will end up moving to a closer room, so I will get her room ready and then re-prep my room.  I moved a bunch of her things to the new room, so I have a pretty basic room to start out with.  We both like the same theme, polka dots!  So my room theme will be hot pink/lime green and black and white polka dots.  I will take pictures as I go and am excited considering this is my first official room to decorate! 

I am also super excited about the projects and activities I will be doing with the kids.  I made a handful of learning games with notecards already and am looking forward to using them in small groups.  I love all the academic stuff of course, seeing them get smarter right before my eyes…I plan to move my keyboard into the room and sing and play songs for them, do lots and lots of fun art/holiday projects, and even get them familiar with Yoga. 

Good things are happening, and I really feel positive about how my teaching career is unfolding.  I guess it did continue to move in the right direction after all…long term sub for 2 days, but now FT contracted teacher!!!

Thank you to all of you who have continued to show your love and support, and who have given me lots of encouragement and who never stopped believing in me as a teacher and the chances that I would get one day, this day!

Hugs to all!

 

Leave a Reply

