Homemade Crayons…Kind of…

Standard

So I am not making crayons from scratch, but I am making new crayons from old crayons…The pictures will explain…

Random crayons that are a little worn or broken…It is a mix of crayola, roseart, and off brand crayons

I bought this mini muffin pan from a thrift store for a dollar. I wanted to have one that I could reserve for art projects.

I heated the water to a near boil, then turned off and dumped the crayons in. Then, I let them sit for about 5 minutes or till the water is warm enough to touch.

Here, I am peeling the crayons. The warm water ideally makes the wrappers come right off. I found that it worked really well with the crayola brand, but not the others. If you tend to run low on patience, I suggest using only crayola because the others did take a little of time and energy to peel.

Next, lay them flat on a towel so they can air dry. They need to be completely dry before moving on…

Next, you can break the crayons into little pieces…I had my hubby and son help with this part because it is kind of fun getting to break the crayons on purpose!

Now for the creative part! We each created our own individualized crayons…a few for today, 4th of July, and then some other cool combinations of colors.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 5 minutes or until the crayons have fully melted. Cool for about 7 minutes or until they appear to have hardened. Lastly, place tin pan in freezer for about 7 minutes.

After the freezer, they should pop out easily…And there you have it, homemade unique crayons! They are great for little kids who are still working on their fine motor skills because of how easy they are to hold.

Do you have other fun family craft ideas that you’d like to share? If so, please let me know!  I love projects that involve the entire family and that inspire time together being creative!  Happy Fourth of July!!!
One response »

Leave a Reply

