Mini Meat Loaf Muffins

Standard

I visited my cousin Kelly the other day; she fixed my crazy locks-for-love hair-do that the kiddos had done. After the haircut, she started making mini meat loaf muffins.  I thought I would give this meal a try, because she is a good cook and I trust her suggestions.  Basically, it is a healthy twist on a traditional meal and has a different shape due to the use of a muffin pan opposed to a loaf pan.  I served them with green beans, mashed potatoes, and a salad.

Here is the recipe:     (yield: 24 mini’s- I baked 12 and put the other half in the freezer for another night)

2 lbs ground turkey

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup diced onions (in the future, I will super dice these babies, they were a little too chunky after all)

3 egg whites

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp cumin

salt/pepper (generous amounts)

I mixed all these ingredients and then scooped into a greased muffin pan (again, hindsight…I would have super greased the pan because they were hard to get out and the pan was tough to clean).  I baked them for 45 mins. on 350.  They tasted great to me, and I especially liked the small size of the patties.  After Hubby and I discussed whether it was good enough to make again, we decided it would need the following changes, but definetely worth mixing into the meal rotations!

* finely chop the onions

*more butter or pam cooking spray in the pan to help for easy release and easier clean up

*Add a little ketchup to each muffin near the end of cooking so it forms a tomato glaze on top (we are big ketchup and meatloaf people)

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

