W7- Health and Fitness

Standard

Reflection time…

So this running idea has had its many ups and downs.  On the plus side, as a whole I did feel more energized and I was starting to see some more definition in my physical appearance.  Yet on the down side, my feet were ridiculously sore.  My feet (specifically heels) tend to hurt in general, but they were hurting so much more after I started this goal of trying to train for a marathon.  By the end of last week I was really starting to rethink this idea of running.  Then on Sunday, I lost/misplaced my pedometer! 

I started to research sore heels and why mine might be hurting so bad. I know I am not a doctor, but I know my feet and I am pretty sure that I have Plantar Fascittis…

Definition: Plantar fasciitis is irritation and swelling of the thick tissue on the bottom of the foot.

Symptoms: The most common complaint is pain in the bottom of the heel. It is usually worst in the morning and may improve throughout the day. By the end of the day the pain may be replaced by a dull aching that improves with rest.

Most people complain of increased heel pain after walking for a long period of time.

One of the risk factors is running…

That said, I have decided that running isn’t for me…at least not in regards to running marathons. Some of the treatments include stretching/icing/new shoes with more heel support/orthodics/rest…I need to look into this more.  Online, I found some heel supports that you could wear with shoes, an iced rolling pin and rolling ball that you use to stretch the heel and ice the heel, and some brands of shoes that are made to improve heel and arch support…

I want to be fit and in shape, to have energy and feel good so in the meantime…I will stretch regularly (staying limber is important, especially as we get older and want to avoid waking up achy) and begin taking yoga more seriously.  I think making measurable goals is important, but I also want to be realistic and listen to my body.  I will let you know how the week goes next Saturday. 

***Sometimes it’s important to make big goals and push yourself, but other times it is just as important to listen to your body and know when to stop and make a change. The goal to health and fitness is feeling better, having more energy and being active…how you get there is up to you, just work on getting there!

 

One response »

  1. Running smunning…Its jiggles up all your insides anyway as well as reeking (no pun intended) havoc on the feet. I say stick with laughing…those big belly laughs of yours are exercise too don’t ya know! Nancy has that planteretc. her feet feel better now after some sort of treatment that Ill ask her about. Not an operation but something that works. Happy Sunday luv.

Leave a Reply

