W4- Inspiration

Standard

“There are many little ways to enlarge your child’s world. Love of books is the best of all.” Jacqueline Kennedy

I truly believe that reading to children has a profound effect on their education and their outlook on life in general.  By reading to them early on, you can set the tone for appreciating books, and inspiring them to find interest in written word.  I remember when Charles was just a baby, I would read to him out of my college textbooks. I needed to read, and he benefitted from hearing my voice and listening to new words…He didn’t realize it when he was little, but by reading aloud to him, we were helping him build his vocabulary, as well as instilling in him a love of reading.

Here is a short list of some of my all time favorite childrens books:

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

The Missing Piece by Shel Silverstein

Big Words for Little People by Jamie Lee Curtis

Oh The Places You’ll go by Dr. Seuss

Love You Forever by Robert Munsch

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

Whoever You Are by Mem Fox

Walter the Farting Dog series

The Loveables in the Kingdom of Self Esteem

Ok…the list is going to get very long if I keep going…maybe I will add to it when I do a “pretty things” list…because books are so very pretty! What can I say, I love books…especially children’s picture books.  One of my favorite places to go is the public library!  There are so many beautiful books calling for me to come and read them. I can check out dozens if my heart so desires and it’s free!!! One of my favorite aspects of teaching first grade last year was all the read alouds.  With my sixth graders, I don’t really read picture books, maybe I should incorporate it though once in awhile. I know they love listening to stories and looking at the pretty illustrations. Time is just always ticking away so quickly…but that’s a topic for another blog. So read to your little ones or your grandkiddos…they will love it and so will you!!!

Happy Reading!!!

One response »

Leave a Reply

