W3- Spirituality- Lovingkindness

Standard

Lovingkindness was first introduced to me by Jeremy during our early days as young love birds…I figured it was simply a term that meant showing love and kindness towards others, but it actually goes much deeper than that. 

It is used often in the Bible in various contexts, and it is a meditation practice in Buddhism.  In Buddhism it is used as a way of keeping ones mind open and sweet.  It is a healing meditation that brings positive changes to the mind, helping one cope with painful feelings and guiding one to be more altruistic in their thoughts and more selfless… It means to show compassion towards others, being a friend and showing warmth and reaching out to others, being empathetic, caring about how things affect people, showing kindness and care to others in a way that spreads love and acceptance…there is a lot to it, this is a super basic explanation…but it is worth looking into more when you have time.

Below is part of a lovingkindness meditation, it can also be used as a prayer where you are asking God to guide you, help you, give you strength and wisdom to show lovingkindness, to yourself and others…

Wishing you lovingkindness, today and always, may we always try to keep such ideas at the forefront of our being…

may I be peaceful, happy, and light in body and spirit.
may I be safe and free from injury.
may I be free from anger, afflictions, fear, and anxiety.

may I learn to look at myself with the eyes of understanding and love.
may I be able to recognize and touch the seeds of joy and happiness in myself
may I learn to identify and see the sources of anger, craving, and delusion in myself.

may I know how to nourish the seeds of joy in myself every day.
may I be able to live fresh, solid, and free.
may I be free from attachment and aversion, but not be indifferent.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

