Week 2- Food and Drink

Standard

I must say that it has been very helpful having this blog in regards to the meal making in my life.  I am much more excited about thinking about things to make, plus I am just being less lazy over-all when it comes to food.  I am not going crazy and using a recipe for every single thing…but I am being more mindful of my food choices.   I juiced on Saturday, and it was great seeing Charles finish his drink faster than me!  I also made a dessert with a recipe card and a dinner with the crock pot. 

Juice-

I forgot to take pictures…but this juice had 2 handfuls of spinach leaves, 1 handful of red leaf lettuce, one handful of carrots, 2 pear, 1 apple, 1 orange, and 2 cuties…It made two 1o oz glasses, and we put in ice cubes to make it colder…and it was super good!  I love that Charles doesn’t even turn his nose up to this drink, and will happily drink it…Plus, it makes me feel good knowing I am getting all these vitamins and nutrients in, making healthy choices puts a smile on my face!

Recipe- Chex Muddy Buddies

I was craving something sweet the other night, and had a handful of good ingredients on hand, but kept coming up one or two things short for the items I thought to make…hmmm…what can I make without having to go to the store???  Then after my hubby had a bowl of cereal, I was reminded of one of my favorite dessert snacks, Chex Muddy Buddies.  I have made this before, but in keeping with my goal of using recipes more often, I thought I could include it…plus you might not know about this easy and delicious treat, so here it is…
 
(* I only had half a box of cereal left, so I just divided all the ingredients in half, that’s the nice part, they all divide easily into halves!)
 
9 cups Corn Chex, Rice Chex, or Chocolate Chex (We had Corn Chex)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
 
1. Into large bowl, measure cereal, set aside
2. In 1-dt microwave safe bowl, heat up chocolate chips, peanut butter
and butter uncovered on High for 1 minute; stir.  Microwave about 30 seconds more until 
mixture can be stirred smooth.  Stir in Vanilla.  Pour mixture over cereal, stirring until
evenly coated.  Pour into 2-gallon resealable food-storage plastic bag.
3.  Add powdered sugar.  Seal bag; shake until well coated.  Spread on wax paper to cool.  
4. Serve and Enjoy, they are irresistable!
 
 
Crock-Pot Dinner: Philly Cheesesteak Sandwiches
Ingredients:
1 1/2- 2 lbs of beef chuck roast
1 16 oz jar of peperoncini’s
sandwhich rolls
mozarella cheese
 
This meal was SUPER easy…I literally put the peperoncini’s and the meat in the crock pot and let it cook on low for about 8 hours.  Then I shredded it up with a fork, taking some of the peperoncini’s out for hubby since I was nervous it was going to be a little two spicy…Then I sliced the rolls, and let them broil in the oven until they got nice and toasty…then I took them out for a sec, put a scoop of meat on one side and covered it with mozarella cheese and let it cook on broil mode again for another minute…I pulled the sandwiches out when the cheese was all hot and gooey…check out the final pictures…yummy!!!  The best part was that my hubby loved the sandwiches and asked for seconds.  He even requested that I make it again! 
 
 
 
 
2 responses »

  1. That’s settled,. Im coming over for dinner & staying for breakfast and coming back for dessert too! hehehe…Yummy is right…a yummyyeahyeah to you! ps LOVE that your juicing up your family!

Leave a Reply

