Week 1- Food and Drink

Standard

Juice:

Ingredients:

1 apple

1 pear

1 orange

handful of spinach leaves

handful of carrots

yields :10 oz juice

Verdict: Super delicious!  I don’t know how realistic it is for me to make this on a school day, but making it on the weekends is something I can be successful with…I will continue to eat fruits and veggies in their regular form throughout the week.  I like giving my son the juice because it mixes in the veggies and is a quick way to get a lot of nutrients in, but it is also important to EAT the foods and model good eating habits…

               

Crock-Pot Meal: Cream Cheese Chicken

Ingredients:

6 frozen chicken tenderloins

1 cup cream of mushroom soup

1/2 cup of chicken broth

1 pkg ranch dressing seasonings

1 pkg cream cheese

1 lb of pasta (I used farfalle noodles but really any could work, no specifications…)

Parmesan Cheese

Step 1- Mix in chicken, cream of mushroom soup, ranch seasoning, chicken broth and cook on low setting for 6 hours

Step 2- After 6 hours of cooking, add the package of cream cheese/stir and cook an additional 30 minutes.  Directions say to stir everything up and shred chicken with 2 forks as you combine the cream cheese with the rest of the mixture.

Step 3- Cook Pasta according to package directions

Step 4- Plate meal…Place pasta in bowl, pour on chicken mixture, sprinkle with parmesan and enjoy! We had ours with fresh buttered bread.

Verdict: Very tasty, in fact, hubby and I each had 2 bowls and Charles ate most of his.  He didn’t LOVE it, but he ate it and he’s pretty darn picky.  My hubby suggested that next time instead of shredding the chicken, I cut it into squares, had kind of a chicken pot pie taste…key thing he said…next time…so that means I will be making this meal again.  My hubby’s parents are both excellent cooks so sometimes my cooking isn’t all that impressive, but he really liked this and reassured me I did a very good job, so in my book, this recipe is a winner!!!

Here is what the final meal looked like…forgot to take pictures of before and during, but I am happy to say that Charles was a super big helper for this meal…

      

New Recipe: Taco Soup

Ingredients:

2 can of kidney beans

1 can of pinto beans

1 can of corn

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 can of tomatoes with chiles

1 pkg ranch seasoning mix

1 lb ground turkey- cooked

2 cups water

Optional items to use as toppings: sour cream, avocado or guacamole, shredded cheese

Combine all items in a big cooking pot and cook on low for 1 – 1 1/2 hours, garnish with toppings, enjoy!

Here are the pictures!

      

One response »

Leave a Reply

